April 15, 2012

  • Tomato to Tamago

    When I first learnt how to cook my mum refuse to teach me any dishes with more than 3 ingredients.

    Her claims was that if there are too many ingredients I would lose my patience in learning how to cook.

    The tomato and egg (tamago) stew was one of the first few dishes my mum taught me when I was 10.

    Till today, I still love this simple and easy recipe which both Joeness and I enjoy. 

    You will need:

    -Tomatoes
    -1 to 2 eggs (depends on how much tomatoes you’ve used. My usual ratio is 3 tomatoes to 1 egg. Today I’m cooking 5 tomatoes, hence I used 2)
    -Salt and pepper for seasoning

    Slice the tomatoes into small slices. The smaller the slices the easier it will be soften later.

    You don’t have to be a pro in this. Just normal slices will do. 

    Add a bit of oil into the pot and bring the heat to medium.

    Pour in the tomatoes.

    Stir fry a bit and cover the pot to let it stew.

    Meanwhile, crack the eggs in a bowl and mix it a bit (you don’t really have to beat them, I prefer to just mix the egg whites with the yolks instead of beating them).

    When the tomatoes are soften entirely, the stew should look like this:

    Mix the tomatoes well and pour in the eggs

    Cover and let it stew for another 1 minute.

    Add in some salt and pepper to taste and volia~! Your tomato and egg stew is done!

    I know it may look gross to some of you but trust me it really taste great. Sometimes I love to pour this over rice and bake with a layer of cheese on top to make my simple bake rice. I love to eat it on its own too! 

    Plus it’s so soft, kids who hates to chew on their veggies will love this! (Erm, I am one of them LOL. {#emotions_dlg.silly})

     

    I seldom post (correction, NEVER post!) what I’ve been cooking because I feel that what I’ve been making are simple dishes. Then again, it won’t harm to share that I loved to cook isn’t it?

     

     


    A.C.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *