October 30, 2012

  • California Fitness Novena's Bad Experience

    I hate to write bad reviews, but with such services it's hard for me not to bitch about.

    S and I have been wanting to look for a gym that's within both our budget since I'm with Fitness First for good and she's now bonded with True Yoga for a couple of years. We both thought of California Fitness because they're known for the affordable pricing and also I've heard good reviews about the Novena branch from my friend Veron who had signed up with them previously.

    So I manage to contact a sales representative J, who was really friendly and nice when I told her about my situation and also, the fact that I won't sign up unless S agrees to the membership which is within our budget.

    J suggested that I might want to consider going down for a tour in the gym and also to discuss about the membership fees. So I made an appointment to go down yesterday after work to have a look at the venue (after hearing so much raves of Novena from Veron) and also to check out the prices before discussing it with S.

    As J was busy when I reached, I as assigned to another lady G who gave me a tour around the gym. I can't say if I like or dislike the whole place but the first thing that came into my mind is "males, men, gays".

    I see ZERO female working out at the machines! Not that I'm thinking wrongly but when I was showed around at True Fitness and Fitness First many years back, there's at least 1-2 females on the cardio machines and such. Not as bad as a 0% female seen on the non-studio section.

    Okay, nevermind. I would probably only go for their classes only anyway. Next!

    Then I was brought to the shower and changing room, which I was informed we have to bring our own lockers. Erm, since I've never been to any California Fitness's shower and changing room so this is the first time I saw something like that. 

    At True Fitness and Fitness First, we'll be giving a key card instead. No hassle about remembering to bring a tiny locker to lock our bags.

    Okay, something different. But it's fine, so long as S and I can get a nice decent place to do combat together. That's what's in my mind then.

    Then of cos came J who obviously gave me a sales talk and quoted me a price that's over our budget which both me and S will not be able to afford at all since we're both on tight budget. 

    Then I was explaining to J about our concerns and such when I noticed at the reception counter, the General Manager by the name of A. How (I managed to get his name and title from a picture of him hanged on the wall) called J over and spoke to her with a stern face, obviously trying to tell her things like if I'm not gonna sign up then forget it just brush me off kinda look. As expected, when J came back she just quickly finish up and rushing to chase me off the gym.

    Bleahz! What kind of sales service is that. So if I'm not signing up now because 
    1. I don't have the money to pay you a few hundreds/thousands at one shot
    2. The gym membership that you quote me is way above our budget and
    3. We don't have any credit cards for you to arrange some installments for us
    then I'll never ever step in there to consider signing up with you again?

    To be honest I was really tempted to sign up for it as an extra gym membership especially since they close at 12 midnight on weekdays which means I can actually take my own sweat time to shower after a 9pm gym class unlike Fitness First which closes at 10pm or 10.30pm for most branches. On top of that I do have friends who are with California Fitness too so in the event if S can't join me I still can look for them to go for classes together. 

    Disappointed. Disappointed. Disappointed.

    If not for the General Manager A How's action I probably would try to persuade S to fork out that extra dollars and sign up at what J had quoted. Now that he's making me feel that he doesn't even appreciate clients and potential members, I shall stick to my beloved Fitness First and sign S in with me during Sundays when we're both available for a good combat session.

    I'm sorry California Fitness, for your information, you didn't lose just me and S in terms of sales. But rather, I do have my colleagues, 2 other friends and 2 ex-poly classmates who are keen to sign up for gym membership. Oh did I mention that my company is looking into getting corporate rates for us too? Too bad, very bad. 

    One bad customer service, you lose a hundred potential customers.

    AC