Month: April 2012

  • I shall…run?

    The other day when I logged on into my facebook account I happened to see a friend of mine posting this article about the 12 health benefits of running.

    I got all these information below from here so don’t blame me for copying. 

    1. Healthy heart Running is one of the best ways to give your heart muscle an effective workout. By running regularly you can improve circulation, and reduce the risk of a heart attack, high blood pressure and stroke.

    2. Weight loss The average runner burns 1,000 calories an hour during a training session. So expect to get thinner, which will in turn help you run faster.

    3. Osteoporosis If you run on a regular basis you are continually taxing your muscles and bones so the bones are stimulated to remain stronger and do not easily weaken with age. So bye bye osteoporosis.

    4. Mental health A regular running habit will you lift your mood and build self-esteem. It also increases your self-confidence as you reach fitness and/or weight loss goals. Running can help relieve mild depression.

    5. Sleep Studies show that runners find it easier to get to sleep at night and sleep longer. Insomniacs take note.

    6. Stress Running increases your ability to cope with everyday minor irritations and stresses.

    7. Happiness Endorphins engendered by exercise mean that people who run are often happier than those who don’t: ever felt that sense of elation during or after a run (known as the runner’s high)? Running regularly can also improve patience, humour and ambition, and make you more good-tempered and easy-going.

    8. Anxiety Runners generally have a lower level of anxiety than those who don’t run. One study suggests that regular training reduces the activity of the serotonin receptors in the brain which regulate mood. Reduced sensitivity of these receptors to stimulation might explain the positive effects of exercise on anxiety.

    9. Immune system If you are a runner you will find that you have a stronger immune system, that means you’ll suffer less from minor illnesses such as colds, allergies, fatigue, menstrual discomfort, backache, and digestive disorders.

    10. Brain power You can increase your mental functions by going running as it boosts blood flow to the brain and helps it receive oxygen and nutrients, making you more productive at work.

    11. Complexion Running stimulates your circulation, improving the transportation of nutrients around your system and flushing out waste products. This will help make your skin clearer and give you that distinctive runner’s glow.

    12. Fat burn By running you are building lean muscle, changing your body composition and your metabolism. Lean muscle weighs heavier than fat, but burns more calories even when you’re resting, so cultivate a regular running habit and you should see a gradual, healthy inch loss.

     

    After looking at these 12 benefits I am so motivated to start running. Anyone else wanna run together with me? 

  • Vote for me!

    Okie this is really not something which I would do on a regular basis but I really want to win this time.

    There’s this contest going on right now and I need you guys to help me vote as the one with the highest votes stand to win…

    This camera~!

    I’ve been wanting to buy myself a new camera after my previous one was gone but with the current fact that Joeness is retrenched and I am the sole breadwinner it will never be the time to spend a few hundreds on a new camera when the money would be used on paying the bills. 

    Then I chanced upon this photo contest but the only chance to win is to get the highest votes!

    I took part in the Geeky category with this old picture of mine.

    And all I need you guys to help me to do is to go to this link:

    http://www.canon-asia.com/ixus/geek-is-th/

    And click “VOTE FOR ME”!!

    Easy, isn’t it?

     

    I miss vlogging a lot and if I win this I definitely would be able to vlog again especially when it has WIFI which I can upload straight from the camera. How cool is it! Not to mention that I would be able to post more pictures instead of just seeing all the words from my blog posts. 

    Pretty please, every vote counts. I really want to win this camera much. Please help me spread the word my dear xangarians and help me win the contest!

    P/s: The vote is count based on your IP address hence you don’t need to even log in to facebook or anything to vote. Super easy or what?!

  • Hard to Please

    Humans are the most hard to please living thing on earth. 

    There’s too much emotions going on inside my brain. 

    Some call this crazy, others say I’m sensitive.

    I say, I am nothing but different from the rest.

    I don’t like to be fake in front of people. 

    But why does people like to be fake in front of me?

    Is it really that hard to be honest?

    All that I want is money. Enough money to pay all my bills every month and all debts to be cleared.

    It wasn’t easy, especially when there are so many debts to clear.

    And just when one mountain of debts is clearing up, another would come piling onto me again. 

    Why? Why? Why?

    Dear Heaven, please let my weird skin rashes go away and money to grow inside my bank.

     


    A.C

  • The Dream Autumn Candy Room (Pictures Heavy)

    I’ve always wanted a room of my own since young. Ever since I had memories I was always sharing my room with my little brother all the time. 

    Then I had a little dream come true when I was 15 and we moved to a bigger house, where I was granted a room of my own but a design of all what other’s say. 

    Obviously I hate it.

    Then again, my happiness of having a space of my own is short-lived. 

    Within years my family was turned upside down and I had to spend most of my days outside my house, with my room occupied by my mum and I have to sleep at the small corner beside the living room. That makes me totally not wanting to go home and in return I started staying alone outside, until I met Joeness.

    Then being with Joeness also means sharing his room. That isn’t a room of my own either. 

    Now that we have our own house and we’re married, we’re still down to sharing a room because out of the 3 bedrooms in our house, one is the master bedroom (our room), the other was study room for both of us and the last was mum’s. (Our initial plan was to have a room of our own then a master bedroom, but of cos the plan failed and now we’re down to a study/storage room and a master bedroom.)

    If I ever have the chance to have my own bedroom (or at least, a room that I call “The Autumn Candy Room”, I would definitely want to make it look like one of these:

    A bedroom by the pool…

    Or one facing the sea~! (Okie that WAS my dream bedroom when I was really really young, like 10-ish.)

     

    Here comes the real deal. 

     

    I admit, I was such a Hello Kitty fan then that I wanted my room to be filled with Hello Kitty stuffs only…

    Pink or no pink, it doesn’t matter as long as there’s Hello Kitty.

    Then I have this crazy fetish for loft beds…


    P/s: This is so pretty~!!! Love the greens…

    Especially when it’s a mini walk-in wore-robe underneath the loft bed! (My favorite of them all.)

    But one thing for sure… I want a dressing table which has got lights all over…

    And a lot of storage space, with mini fridge, sound system for me to listen to my music…

    And best if the room is green! Green = my all-time favorite color.

    Attic bedrooms has always been one that I loved.. Small space? It’s cozy sweet in my opinion. 

    My favorite of all the attic bedrooms that I’ve seen. Being above to view the stars while lying on the bed is bliss.

     

    What was your dream bedroom? Or are you owning one right now?

     


    A.C

    Pictures credit to google.

  • Let’s go prison together

    Joeness was wondering during our japanese dinner today that if Chinese prisoners eat rice, Japanese prisoners eat rice, what do prisoners in the western countries like America eat?

    So I googled and found out that they ate mostly everything from beef sandwich to fish and vegetables.

    But what’s interesting was that I saw a lot of comments saying that people whom they knew went to jail would come out buff and bigger. Apparently what most said is because they gym and work out a lot in there and plus cos in prison, they are served with nutrition food (just not tasty) and hence they buff up and becomes bigger and fitter.

    So Joeness was joking that since I always have difficulty losing weight, perhaps throwing me into an American jail where I eat nutritious food and work out everyday would slim me down.

    What a nice suggestion my own husband had gave me…

    I think I shall just eat food like this everyday from now on.

  • Cos I had a bad week…

    And I mean a really bad bad week.

    It all first started with a stupid assignment given by the boss to go to the warehouse and pack all those nonsense from that company X that was taking over by my company.

    4 of us to go and merely 2 of us (including me) working non stop while the other 2? One nags and the other slacks (and they are both used to be from that company X, me and the other person are not).

    For some stupid reason, a developed some rashes on my butt and inner thigh from my skin allergy since that day.

    Then within 2 days, it spreads up to my stomach and now, even my breast is getting some of that stupid rash.

    Doctor says it’s not normal skin allergy but some bacteria infections, hence there I am, taking anti-biotics again.

    I HATE IT!!!!

     

    And if that isn’t enough, Joeness received the news that he is being retrenched…

    I don’t know if it’s a good or a bad news. Good in the sense he now have a very good excuse to find a new job that’s nearer to home but bad in the sense that at times like this being jobless can be terrible if he can’t find a job soon. 

    And if that isn’t bad enough, I had a very very bad and truthful feeling today.

     

    Just because I am not those woman with gentle sweet and lady-like character, people love to judge me.

    Bleahz, I am JUST not that gentle lady-like woman with that sly slutty scheming character underneath. 

    What you see is what you get. Judge all you want, man!

     

    I don’t see a need to change myself and please you anyway. I am who I am and I don’t think I should change for you because you’re not worth it.

    You merely prove to me that staying long in the company would not bring me far because you’ve judged me based on my character and not my work capabilities.

    Sad, yes I am. Especially when I gave up a job that I filled with passion and love and everything I want for the sake of my family and time.

     

    BLEAHz~!!!! I wish I could go to the beach, stand facing the waves and shout as loud as I want.

    A~R~G~H~~~~~!!! 

     


    A.C

  • Office Benefits

    Work may have been something that I hate because I really don’t like all those work politics and strict rules and nonsense. 

    Nevertheless, I am glad that now the place that I’m working is filled with people who work with the mindset that “we are part of a family” (except for some *ahem ahemz* who will die if they don’t try to create some politics among people. Grr… May hell gate open for you when the day your soul rises~)

    Another reason why I love where I’m working now? The benefits!

    I may be someone who hates waking up early in the morning and being forced to be on time for work and such. But looking at the bigger picture, I get to knock off much earlier as compared to those dog days when I was working in cosmetic companies. Nowadays I have the freedom of meeting my friends out for dinner, hitting the gym for my yoga and combat lessons, watching my favorite japanese dramas (I am a HUGE fan of those. Korean dramas… Nay!) and to do some housework daily.

    Other than that, I love getting freebies every month~

    Alright, consider me a cheapo but who doesn’t love freebies especially those things that are of use to you?

    Household products is a must when I shop for groceries every month but ever since I joined my company, I haven’t really need to buy that much anymore. Because some are already given to me as part of my company incentives~! Lalalalala~ 

    Of cos there are some of the things which are of useless to me too, but I can always pass them to my family members who would be of use to them!

    Overall, I am happy with where I am now and what I’m doing. BUT! Satisfaction never last on me and hence I’m gonna be taking up a course soon. I’ll either to complete my degree or to take up the Wedding Planner course which I have been wanting to take, or maybe both. But before all these the most important thing that I have to do right now is to get my car license~!

    I can’t believe that I’m the last person in my family to get a car license… Tsk!

     


    A.C.

  • Tomato to Tamago

    When I first learnt how to cook my mum refuse to teach me any dishes with more than 3 ingredients.

    Her claims was that if there are too many ingredients I would lose my patience in learning how to cook.

    The tomato and egg (tamago) stew was one of the first few dishes my mum taught me when I was 10.

    Till today, I still love this simple and easy recipe which both Joeness and I enjoy. 

    You will need:

    -Tomatoes
    -1 to 2 eggs (depends on how much tomatoes you’ve used. My usual ratio is 3 tomatoes to 1 egg. Today I’m cooking 5 tomatoes, hence I used 2)
    -Salt and pepper for seasoning

    Slice the tomatoes into small slices. The smaller the slices the easier it will be soften later.

    You don’t have to be a pro in this. Just normal slices will do. 

    Add a bit of oil into the pot and bring the heat to medium.

    Pour in the tomatoes.

    Stir fry a bit and cover the pot to let it stew.

    Meanwhile, crack the eggs in a bowl and mix it a bit (you don’t really have to beat them, I prefer to just mix the egg whites with the yolks instead of beating them).

    When the tomatoes are soften entirely, the stew should look like this:

    Mix the tomatoes well and pour in the eggs

    Cover and let it stew for another 1 minute.

    Add in some salt and pepper to taste and volia~! Your tomato and egg stew is done!

    I know it may look gross to some of you but trust me it really taste great. Sometimes I love to pour this over rice and bake with a layer of cheese on top to make my simple bake rice. I love to eat it on its own too! 

    Plus it’s so soft, kids who hates to chew on their veggies will love this! (Erm, I am one of them LOL. {#emotions_dlg.silly})

     

    I seldom post (correction, NEVER post!) what I’ve been cooking because I feel that what I’ve been making are simple dishes. Then again, it won’t harm to share that I loved to cook isn’t it?

     

     


    A.C.

  • Heartless Idiots

    My closest sister Sandra’s dad passed away on Sunday. 

    Upon hearing it from her message on Monday morning, I rush over after work to the wake to give her the emotional support. 

    While I was there I realized none of her friends turned up. Not even those who claims to be her close friends or even her sisters.

    When I tried to message some of them, to the greatest rudest shock of my life none of them said they will be going to the wake. 

    And their reasons?

    “This month is my birthday month and it crashes so I cannot attend the wake.”

    “There’s someone having confinement at my home so I can’t attend.”

    “I got to work.”

    “I’m not free.”

    WTF no wonder so many years ago Black Eye Peas sang “Where is the love”.

    Seriously, WHERE IS THE LOVE?

    When you need help, she’s there to render help and support. Now that she needs those emotional support the most, all of you just try to avoid at all costs?

    Friends like these makes me ask myself if it’s me who take friendship too seriously or is them being too heartless.

    I don’t want to answer this myself. You be my counsellor.


    A.C.

  • Yoshinoya Lunch

    Haven’t tried Yoshinoya’s food for the longest time ever! Standard really drops a lot but then oh well. Memories are still there?

    I can still remember those school days when Yoshinoya was a luxury food. Today it means nothing except a meal. Am I the one who changed or was the food changed me?

    I don’t know. And I don’t want to know.